Scottish Secretary David Mundell comes out as gay

Scottish Secretary David Mundell has come out as gay today, describing the decision as “one of the most important of my life”.

Mr Mundell wrote on his personal website that it was time to “acknowledge in public as well as in private, who I am”.

The 53-year-old said he hoped that coming out would not change anything about how he was treated.

The MP for Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale wrote in his online post: “New Year, new start! I have already set out my political priorities for the year and now I am setting out my personal one.

“Having taken one of the most important decisions of my life and resolved to come out as gay in 2016, I just want to get on with it, and now, just like that, I have said it.”

He continued: “Other than the intensely personal and positive  difference it  makes to me, and the way I can live my life, my hope is that my coming out doesn’t change anything else about how I go about my work or how people treat me.

“Gender and sexuality should make no difference whether you are a Cabinet Minister or in any other walk of life and I hope that I can, in my own way, reinforce that message.”

Leave a comment and that...

