The Welfare Cap: Who voted against It?


Labour’s rebellion over George Osborne’s new cap on welfare spending was underwhelming at best.

The number of politicians voting against the measure was significantly lower that many expected – a grand total of 13.

At a time when many of their constituents are suffering the effects of benefits cuts, clearly some still regard Osborne’s attempt to perpetuate a false divide between “strivers” and “scroungers” as the lowest form of politics.

Here is a list of the 13 Labour MPs who voted against the cap:

Diane Abbott

Ronnie Campbell

Katy Clark

Michael Connarty

Jeremy Corbyn

Kelvin Hopkins

Glenda Jackson

John McDonnell

George Mudie

Linda Riordan

Dennis Skinner

Tom Watson

Mike Wood


Leave a comment and that...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: